To Fast, or Not to Fast…

To really solidify my new eating lifestyle I’m choosing to do a two-day fast. When first suggested, I thought, Are you nuts? I’ve never missed a meal in my life–let alone two days’ worth of food. Impossible. Still, I’m willing to give it a try. I’ve seen the benefits in others, for sure.

Many of my friends are raw foodies who frequently fast. It’s common to hear, “I’m on a seven-day fast”. An astounding example is my dear friend, the amazing Dr. Kat Bowie. One day she invited me to lunch with her and her business partner. When I got there, she announced, “I’m on a 30-day juice fast.” Are you kidding me? The thought of going out to lunch with two meat-eating hungry people astounded me. I know I couldn’t do it. The smell alone would have driven me rabid for food. But, as Kat is also a raw foods person, the smell of the meat was probably enough to keep her from getting hungry. Still, I am awed by her determination.

So here I am whining about a two-day fast. I’m mentally preparing myself by reading about others’ experiences. The Lean Saloon offers some great suggestions.

And from my experience eating well the past 10 days, I think I can do it. I’m still amazed at such quick results: I’ve lost five pounds; my skin is smooth and clear; and I have more energy than I know what to do with.

And for the most part, since day two, the cravings are gone–except for when a random thought pops in my head. For example, my daughter, Tara, and I went to the farmer’s market on Sunday (I admit I’m shopping several times a week to keep enough fresh, organic fruits and vegetables in the house). Afterwards, I was telling her about a local hamburger joint that has roller skating on Sundays. I said, “Let’s go!” And instantly, I mean instantly, the image of a juicy, greasy burger with fries popped into my head. I could smell it. So I told her it would be best not to go just yet. But other than that intense moment, the cravings are gone. As I don’t yet have the willpower of Kat, for me, out of sight–out of mind, is still the best option.

So, tomorrow I fast. We’ll see how it goes–I’ll keep you posted!

3 responses to “To Fast, or Not to Fast…

  1. You should consult your doctor before fasting. Because your fasting your body will go into starvation mode. This means that whatever calories you take in will be turned to fat so that it can be used at a later time so because of this you could gain all that weight back and harm your body.

    • I appreciate the feedback, GD. But my doctor is the one who suggested the fast. She said it will help rid my body of accumulated toxins as well as aid in digestion and liver function. Thanks!

  2. Oh, Jill! You are so sweet! Thank you for those comments, gosh! Made me blush.

    Hmmm. I have been on many fasts ranging from a couple of days to 92-days. Fasting is NOT an unhealthy practice and is in fact supported by a tremendous amount of empirical data and anecdotal reports as to the large range of health benefits of fasting. It has been a part of the human experience in many ways (health, situational, spiritual, ritual, etc.) for thousands of years.

    Were one to fast for a few days, specifically to lose weight it IS very easy for the initial weight loss (which is mostly water) to be gained backed. It is very unlikely that anyone would actually lose fat in a couple of days. Or to be harmed in any way, unless there was an underlying physical disorder that made fasting somehow contraindicated.

    There is a lot of mis-information out there about fasting. There are many different kinds of fasting and ways to do this. Perhaps I should write an article about fasting as an overview. (hmmm, a thought…)

    Much love and thanks again…
    In Peace, Dr. Kat

Leave a Reply

